top of page

Andiamo Ragazzi

Andiamo has been the theme of this past week. Andiamo means "let's go" and that's all we've been doing lately. On Wednesday, we took a day trip to Milan with our professor, Nicoletta. The trip focused on the differences of american and Italian cuisine. We went to Eately, a restaurant and store. I tried to keep an open mind, but it felt like I was eating in a generic Italian restaurant that I compared to Barnes and Noble at the time because of it's decor. The food was decent, but I could not get past the fact that I felt bad taking business away from local restaurants while I ate in the equivalent of Walmart and Barnes and Noble combined.

Then we ventured to California Bakery- which was supposed to be an American pastry shop but it was far from the authenitic thing. I ordered german chocolate cake and it was by far the thickest and heaviest cake I have ever eaten in my life. The cakes in Italian are mostly mousse based unlike american cakes that are mostly just pound cake.

I was the most excited to see the Duomo of Milano. It's this massive cathedral in the center of the piazza and while we were there, they were setting up for the UEFA Champions league finale. Which I would love to see, but I do not have a spare 1000 euros to drop on one soccer game.

And for a non-university sponsored trip(which we almost missed the train for), we all went to Cinque Terre(meaning five cities) along the Italian coast line.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page